Site Related > Site / Forum Discussion

GPU Process Reversal?

(1/2) > >>

walterab:
I have given up on posting solutions so today I have a problem that needs addressing.  I have re-formatted my 1TB hard drive to attempt to reverse what occurred when a hacker penetrated my firewall and used my nVidia GeForce Graphics Card's memory to mine bit coins.  I have my Windows Vista computer set up to do all of my computing "in the Cloud" and on a wireless network driven by a cable modem.  I have 52+ years experience with digital information systems and turned 81 years of age last month.  Is there anyone that has any experience in re-setting the default environment for normal operation?  My main system memory consists of 8GB (4 DDR modules) and my Graphics card has 256MBs. :-\

dlipman:
I truly doubt "...hacker penetrated my firewall and used my nVidia GeForce Graphics Card's memory to mine bit coins".

More likely a driveby download or visiting a vulnerability/exploitation site with the payload being a BitCoin Miner trojan. (assuming that's what you had).

I don't know what you want so I will be general...

Make sure your your SOHO Router is properly secured (does not respond to PINGs, no remote administration and the default password has been changed to a strong password) and WiFi accessed via a strong password using WPA2-AES.

Make sure your Vista PC is up-to-date in ALL software, not just the OS.

Make sure you use anti virus software and practice Safe Hex.

For regular computer usage, use a Limited User Account (LUA) instead of an account with administrative privileges.

Make data backups and image the computer regularly so you don't have to wipe and re-install the OS.

walterab: