Author Topic: NEWBIE trying to use this site to find best AVAS vendor.  (Read 3386 times)

April 23, 2010, 10:16:01 pm
Read 3386 times

ReedMikel

Hi All,

I am an IT consultant managing about 200 PCs at several client sites.  I currently use AVG9 on these PCs, but it misses FakeAV malware quite often.  So I am trying to find a better AVAS product.  I thought my selection process should be somewhat scientific, so I am in search of URLs that lead to the dreaded FakeAV crap we are all to familiar with lately.  Once I have some URLs, I want to use a VMWare virtual machine to test how several leading AVAS products handle the threats.  Would this site be appropriate?  Any suggestions?

I saw a sticky to not request samples, so maybe this forum isn't appropriate?

If this isn't an appropriate site, can anyone suggest how to truly test various AVAS products against real malware threats that users would encounter on the web?  Is there a resource on the Internet that provides working copies of known malware for IT folks to test against?

TIA,
-Mike

April 24, 2010, 12:15:41 am
Reply #1

MysteryFCM

• Administrator

• Personal Text
    Phishing Phanatic
    • I.T. Mate
You can find those in our database at;

http://www.malwaredomainlist.com/mdl.php?search=fake+av&colsearch=All&quantity=50

I'd personally suggest Malwarebytes AntiMalware (www.malwarebytes.org) coupled with either NOD ESS (www.eset.com) or Kaspersky (www.kaspersky.com).
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

May 05, 2010, 06:34:34 pm
Reply #2

ReedMikel

Thanks for the info!  I did look at some of those domains listed there, but in many cases they are already flagged as unsafe by Google.  I (and my clients) tend to use Firefox, which has a security option that checks sites using some Google resource.