Author Topic: MalZilla  (Read 257457 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 02, 2008, 08:41:24 pm
Reply #240

bobby

  • Special Members
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *

  • 322
    • Malzilla
Malzilla 1.2.0 updated.

I still do not have solution for libeay32.dll
It simply does not work on the systems where newer VS redistributable files are installed.
XP SP3 contains these by default.

This version of VS 2008 redistributables should work:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9B2DA534-3E03-4391-8A4D-074B9F2BC1BF

I also have a new tutorial prepared, but I have troubles with uploading it to the SourceForge (and not only me, according to SF bug-tracker).

November 02, 2008, 09:14:09 pm
Reply #241

MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1693
  • Personal Text
    Phishing Phanatic
    • I.T. Mate
Cheers dude :)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

November 02, 2008, 09:31:16 pm
Reply #242

sowhat-x

  • Guest
I've had encountered numerous troubles when VS 2005 came out,
with it's so called 'side-by-side assemblies'...
having often to mess around with custom-made manifest files etc.,
and even then,not always successfully,
as there were way too many incorrectly compiled programs distributed out there...
But now I was just reading the page over at Shining Light,and it says:
Quote
Although there is a "newer version" of this installer, this is the correct version to install.
That's kinda weird...because assuming the .exes are compiled correctly in the first place,
newer Visual C++ redistributables shouldn't 'break' them...at the worst case scenario,
a .manifest file should be created to point/redirect to the newer libraries:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa375632.aspx
...should I assume that older OpenSSL dlls were not compiled with VS2005/2008?

Question is: could OpenSSL be compiled statically into Malzilla.exe itself,
in order to see if the problem persists?Not sure if this is possible...plus,one more idea:
http://www.stunnel.org/download/stunnel/win32/stunnel-4.26-installer.exe
libeay.dll included there is OpenSSL 0.9.8i -> build 15 Sep 2008 with gcc...  ;)

November 02, 2008, 09:37:24 pm
Reply #243

MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1693
  • Personal Text
    Phishing Phanatic
    • I.T. Mate
Using 0.9.8i cleared the SSL error I was receiving :)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

November 02, 2008, 09:42:15 pm
Reply #244

sowhat-x

  • Guest
Lol -> gcc p0wned vs studio,ha-ha!  :)
Nice thing is that 0.9.8i is also newer than Shining Light's 0.9.8g,
although from what I see in their changelog,it's mainly crash related bugfixes...
http://www.openssl.org/news/vulnerabilities.html

Edit:Shining Light has updated to 0.9.8i,my mistake...
as I was looking for older versions as well via WebArchive,he-he ;-)
http://www.slproweb.com/products/Win32OpenSSL.html

November 02, 2008, 09:43:18 pm
Reply #245

bobby

  • Special Members
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *

  • 322
    • Malzilla
@sowhat-x
I'm looking into other than OpenSSL solutions (there is a couple more SSL solutions out there).
AFAIK, OpenSSL is the most complete solution. I will need to see how useful/complete are the other ones.

@MysteryFCM
Thanks, I will try that.
btw. which Windows version you use?
I have one PC with Win XP SP3, and I will do some testing on it tomorrow.
On this PC that I use for development, I use SP2.
I have bad experiences from updating SP1 > SP2 (network didn't work anymore), and I do not dare to reinstall Windows again if I get problems with installing SP3 (too many tools and settings need to be installed/setup).

I have attached the new tutorial here. Who knows how much time will SF.net need to fix up the problems.

November 02, 2008, 09:47:45 pm
Reply #246

MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1693
  • Personal Text
    Phishing Phanatic
    • I.T. Mate
@Bobby,
I've got a machine with XP SP2 and a machine with XP SP3 :)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

November 02, 2008, 10:11:11 pm
Reply #247

sowhat-x

  • Guest
...just read the tutorial...that's really magic there,
need to read it couple of times more in order to get in the flow of it,
damn it -> i'd dare saying it's better than unpacking!  ;D

Irrelevant...does "Kalimero" word mean something by itself?
Or was it a randomly chosen/made-up term?
I'm asking because "Kalimera" in greek means "Good Morning"...  :)

November 03, 2008, 04:26:00 am
Reply #248

bobby

  • Special Members
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *

  • 322
    • Malzilla
Kalimero = Calimero = toon character:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calimero

We use K instead of C here, as we always read C as Tz (almost like in Tzatziki).
If you need to read it as K (like in the word "Combination"), you need to write K :)

@MysteryFCM
And you was getting that error message on both of them?

November 03, 2008, 06:33:07 pm
Reply #249

MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1693
  • Personal Text
    Phishing Phanatic
    • I.T. Mate
I was, yep
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

November 03, 2008, 06:43:19 pm
Reply #250

JohnC

  • Special Members
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1964
A feature suggestion: ability to POST instead of GET. With a little box to put the POST data, (in hex perhaps so that you can allow for newline characters etc). which works pretty much like GET does so that you can save to file whatever data is returned by the server.


November 03, 2008, 08:39:34 pm
Reply #251

bobby

  • Special Members
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *

  • 322
    • Malzilla
@JohnC
I'll see what can I do.
POST is not a problem, I was already working on apps using POST methods to submit data to a form.
Only problem is that I do not know what kind of form we have to deal with.
If you just need a box where you will put the data manually, that can be done in one hour.

November 03, 2008, 08:51:26 pm
Reply #252

MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1693
  • Personal Text
    Phishing Phanatic
    • I.T. Mate
Because we don't know what is going to be required, the best method for the POST, would be a simple box, where the user fills in the suspected vars required? This would then be included in the post data.
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

November 03, 2008, 10:40:29 pm
Reply #253

JohnC

  • Special Members
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1964
@JohnC
I'll see what can I do.
POST is not a problem, I was already working on apps using POST methods to submit data to a form.
Only problem is that I do not know what kind of form we have to deal with.
If you just need a box where you will put the data manually, that can be done in one hour.

For the time being, that is what I need :)

November 04, 2008, 01:48:05 am
Reply #254

pnuemo

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 11
Upgraded to the latest version.  Somehow my error for libeay32.dll went away!  Working great.